Screen Shot 2022-02-28 at 7.46.01 AM.png



We are proud to announce that the Middletown Historical Society's 2022 will be on Saturday, May 14, 2022 at 5:45 p.m. at the Shartle House Museum located at 120 North Verity Parkway, Middletown, OH 45042.

Below are this years nominees for our coveted History Maker and History Preserver Awards.   Voting has now ended.  We thank everyone for purchasing tickets and cannot wait to see those tonight.  THE EVENT IS OFFICIALLY SOLD OUT!

History Makers: A person/group who has played a significant role in making history in Middletown or making history and being from Middletown.

  • Todd Bell: NFL Star and Ohio State Defensive Back.

  • Clarence "Butch" Carter: NBA Player and Coach

  • Cris Carter: Pro Football Hall of Fame Inductee and NFL Star.

  • Robert “Sonny” Hill:  Middletown’s First African American Mayor.

  • McGuire Sisters: Vocal Trio

  • Clarence Page: American Journalist, Columnist and Senior Member of the Chicago Tribune.

  • Susan Perkins: Miss America 1978.

  • Helen (Gerber) Ramsdell: Longtime Middletown Singer and Vocal Coach.

  • Terry Rukavina: All America Girl's Baseball League Player.

  • James “Choppy” Saunders: Middletown’s First African American City Council Member.

  • Shepherd Sisters: Vocal Quartet

  • Dr. Frank Simon: Assistant Director for the John Philip Sousa Band and Director of the Armco Band

  • Paul Sorg: Middletown Paper and Tobacco Entrepreneur & US Congressman.

  • John B. Tytus: Inventor of First Practical Wide-Strip Rolling Process for Manufacturing Steel.

  • William Calvin Verity, Jr.: Secretary of Commerce under President Ronald Reagan

  • Write In:  You are able to write in your candidate.  Past winners are not eligible. 

History Preservers: A person/group who has played a significant role in preserving or recording the history of Middletown.​

  • Doug Bean: Director of Middletown Public Library for 37 years.

  • James Cox Family

  • Herbert Fall: Middletown Artist of Historical People, Places and Events in Middletown History

  • Dave Francis: Sponsor of Annual Middletown History Calendar

  • Jack Howard:  Middletown Illustrator of Historical Pictures

  • Middletown Pioneer Cemetery Board: Preserver of Middletown's Final resting place of early Middletownians. 

  • Jay and Linda Moorman: Investors/Promoters in the Revitalization of Downtown Middletown and Preservers of G.C. Murphy Building.

  • Ann Mort:  Community Preservation Activist

  • South Main Street Historic District / PRISM: Non-Profit Organization to Assist in the Preservation and Revitalization of the South Main Street Historic District

  • Judge William Todhunter: Involved in the founding of the library and Middletown History Recorder

  • Wilifred Vorhis:  Historian and Author of Middletown History

  • Woodside Cemetery and Arboretum: Preserver of final resting place of Middletownians

  • Write In:  You are able to write in your candidate.  Past winners are not eligible.